INCS Teacher Leadership Cohort

On December 6, 2021, the 2022 INCS Teacher Leadership Cohort (TLC) was announced.

Too often teacher voice is missing from the discussion about how education can be improved.  INCS started the Teacher Leadership Cohort last year to build the capacity of charter public school teachers to advocate for themselves, their students and their schools. The TLC aims to support the commitment and drive of charter teachers by providing leadership development opportunities to help them to amplify their critical voices.

The TLC will include six professionally moderated training sessions, a stipend of $1500, and leadership and speaking opportunities. Trainings begin in January 2022. Over 40 charter teachers from all over the state applied to participate. After careful evaluation, 15 teachers and paraprofessionals were invited to participate.

2022 Cohort Members

Dorothy Crawley Underwood, CICS Wrightwood

Thomas Daniels, Urban Prep

Emily Sill, Rowe Elementary 

Douglas Rudd,  Springfield Ball Elementary Charter School

Juan Pablo Esquivel, Noble Baker 

Constantina (Tina) Haralambopoulos, Elgin Math & Science Academy

Johnard Irizarry Aspira Business and Finance

Kwalee Kemp, ACE Amandla

Mark Lenz, Catalyst Maria 

Zachery Manta, Namaste Charter School

Timothy McAlister, North Lawndale College Prep Charter High School

Shannon Phillips, Acero Tamayo 

Raymond Smith, UChicago Woodlawn Charter High School

Melissa Thompson,  Prairie Crossing Charter School

Janise Wright, KIPP One Primary

Session Topics will include charter history, funding, and rationale, the path to charter schools, charter and school finance, data and storytelling, charter communications and messaging and speaking up and speaking out. Applications for the third cohort of the INCS TLC will open in October 2022.

For more information, contact the INCS Senior Director of School Support, Allison Jack, at